Will's Sports Blog

South Florida Sports From Local10.com

Archive for February 10th, 2010

Bring on Baseball…

Posted by willmanso on February 10, 2010

It’s my favorite time of the year, and it’s right around the corner.   Pitchers and catchers report to Major League baseball camps all over Florida and Arizona beginning next week.  For the Marlins, it’s the start of a season with a team that will look very familiar to fans.  The Fish didn’t make any major changes this offseason, and for the most part, that’s a good thing!  I know some fans might be a little greedy and wish the team had signed a proven 1st baseman or proven closer, but that’s just not the way the Marlins usually work.  Especially since the team decided to keep Dan Uggla and then sign Josh Johnson to a long-term deal.  I think those positives outweigh any negatives.

Of course, the Marlins do enter the season with some concerns, and trust me, I will break them down over the next few weeks.  For now though, let’s just be happy that soon we’ll hear two of my favorite words in all sports:  play ball!

Posted in Dan Uggla, Florida Marlins, Major League Baseball, Spring Training, Uncategorized | Leave a Comment »